Lokta vs LoanPro
Compare LoanPro with Lokta for the live book after approval: fit, controls, deployment and the evidence to request.
Choose Lokta if
Your book is already disbursed, it answers to a regulator in India, wider Asia-Pacific or Africa, and you plan to automate servicing across the whole book.
Look at both if
LoanPro on United States and Canadian rails; Lokta, on its own ledgers, for a book under a different regulator.
How do Lokta and LoanPro compare, capability by capability?
Vendor sources and research date · Published descriptions; confirm the current product and your deployment.
Yes and No mean the capability is described, or ruled out, in public material. Via partner means the vendor supplies it through a named partner rather than in the product. Not stated means we could not find it in LoanPro’s published material, which is not the same as absent from the product. We do not use that state in our own column: about ourselves the answer is Yes or No. Rows where the answer goes against us are here on purpose.
Why choose Lokta for the book after approval?
Built for the regulator you answer to
Lokta is built around the obligations of regulated lending in India, wider Asia-Pacific and Africa: co-lending with configurable partner share, partner settlement, daily asset classification a regulator will read, books denominated in more than one currency, and an audit record built for an inspection rather than translated for one. Agents run collections and recovery inside that frame, and the deterministic core decides each proposal before it posts. LoanPro’s depth is United States consumer credit, and neither depth is portable, which is why this comparison is settled by jurisdiction before it reaches the feature list.
Evaluate Loan Management and AI Loan Servicing for the book after approval. Loan Origination is on the roadmap and is not available now. No release date is published. Read the team’s background and the Apache Fineract comparison for context.
When is LoanPro still the right choice?
- You are a United States or Canadian lender whose compliance surface is the CARD Act, TILA (Regulation Z), SCRA, PIPEDA and Metro 2 credit-bureau furnishing, with NACHA batching and card-issuer integrations alongside. LoanPro states it has built exactly that; we have not.
- You want to evaluate a vendor before you talk to one. LoanPro publishes an open API reference with no login wall, a sandbox with separate credentials, Postman collections, documented payment idempotency semantics and a weekly dated changelog including bug fixes. If reading the documentation before the first call is how you evaluate, prefer them.
- You want one vendor across origination and servicing on a single core, with volume references at scale today and a published certification set: SOC 1 Type II and SOC 2 Type II per a November 2022 post, SOC 3 named on its loan-management-software page, and PCI-DSS Level 1 on both. We are a small company and put architecture in front of a reviewer instead.
A lender with one book on United States rails and another under an Indian, wider Asia-Pacific or African regulator can run LoanPro for the first and Lokta for the second. Nothing on either side needs replacing.
How should we test the governance claims?
Use the same servicing exception to evaluate LoanPro and Lokta. Ask each team to show the proposed action, policy checks, required approval and resulting account record.
Use the governed-action example to frame the test, and review Lokta’s platform architecture and Loan Product Studio for the underlying product controls.
Why do lenders look for a LoanPro alternative?
Automation is the thing you are buying and the thing the meter counts.
LoanPro’s published billing documentation defines a billable account as the greatest of seven metrics, one of them rule evaluations once they pass 750 times the live-account count.
Other currencies are recorded, not moved.
LoanPro’s own help documentation states that adding a foreign-currency payment method lets you record that a payment was made, but does not create the infrastructure to move that currency.
The isolation is real. The operator is still LoanPro.
LoanPro documents a dedicated virtual private cloud, a separate AWS account peered to your own AWS environment, and its public material does not describe on-premises deployment or infrastructure your team operates.
What is the difference between Lokta and LoanPro?
What automation costs as the book grows
That formula prices the behaviour a lender needs most when the book turns. Model your own automation profile against it before you sign the contract; the answer is arithmetic, not opinion.
What “deterministic” means on each side
A rules engine runs policy you wrote. Ours tests treatments you have not designed and refuses anything outside your bounds. Both are honest uses of the word; only one of them can find a strategy you did not think of.
Regulatory centre of gravity
Neither travels. Jurisdictional depth is the least glamorous thing a lending platform owns and the hardest to replicate, and buying it under the wrong regulator is an expensive way to find that out.
Money movement
If you run one book, in one market, in one currency, this decides nothing. If you run three, it decides everything, and it is decided at the ledger, not on a roadmap.
Where the guardrail sits
Governed AI is not the difference; both of us describe guardrails. Theirs, on the feature we could find, covers one account type and five transaction types. Ours checks every proposal on any account type, and anything outside policy goes to maker-checker with the refusal on the record too.
Deployment
Their VPC option is a real isolation posture, and a security review focused on isolation may accept it. A regulator requiring the platform to run on infrastructure your team operates is asking a different question, with a different answer.
Scope
If your evaluation covers application, underwriting and disbursal in the same contract, this comparison should end here rather than three months from now.
Where would we expect an argument?
Automation across the whole book is what a servicing platform is for. A billing formula that can raise the account count when rule evaluations climb prices the platform’s own purpose.
What should you ask LoanPro in an evaluation?
- How will our billable account count move, month by month, as automated servicing runs across the whole book?
- Is the AI Gateway generally available under a service level, with a named production reference? The public changelog through August 2026 lists no releases for it.
- What are the published API rate limits? We could not find them in LoanPro’s developer documentation.
- When automation acts on an account after approval, what is the deterministic control between the model proposal and the posting, and is it configurable per policy and auditable per action?
Each is a diligence question we could not settle from LoanPro’s public material as of August 2026, not a claim about what the product does. Ask them, and ask us the equivalent. Our AI governance questions and the full evaluation questionnaire are the set we would put to any platform, including ours.
One platform for the live book, with autonomy you can audit.
Start a conversation
Bring the requirements behind your LoanPro evaluation, a sample loan and one servicing exception. Agree which checks would establish fit before planning a migration.
Frequently asked questions about LoanPro
Is Lokta a LoanPro alternative for an Indian lender?
For the post-approval half of the book, yes. Lokta runs servicing, monitoring and early warning, collections and recovery for lenders regulated in India, with co-lending, partner settlement and daily asset classification as product and an audit record your regulator can read. LoanPro covers origination through collections with a United States and Canada centre of gravity. If origination is in the requirement, LoanPro is in scope and Lokta is not.
Can Lokta be deployed on our own infrastructure?
Yes: on-premises, single-tenant cloud, or inside your own virtual private cloud, the same binary across all three, with Lokta engineers deploying alongside your team. LoanPro documents a dedicated virtual private cloud in a separate AWS account with peering into your AWS environment, a real isolation posture that LoanPro operates. If your regulator requires the platform to run on infrastructure your team controls, test that difference in the security review.
Does Lokta do loan origination?
Not this cycle. Lokta is post-approval only, built for a book that is already disbursed. If your evaluation covers application, underwriting and disbursal in the same contract, LoanPro’s Origination suite covers it and we do not. If approval is settled and the cost has moved downstream into collections and recovery, this is where it starts.
How is an AI-proposed action recorded?
The agent proposes. It does not post to the ledger. The deterministic core decides whether the proposal is inside policy, and the record carries what was proposed, what the core decided, which policy version applied and who approved it. The ledger and money-of-record are computed by code, never by a model. LoanPro publishes Compliance Guardrails too, an Automation Engine feature scoped to line-of-credit accounts and five transaction types, evaluated on creation only; its AI Gateway announcement does not state a comparable scope. The delta we would defend: our core checks every proposal, on any account type, and anything outside policy routes to a named approver under maker-checker, with the refusal on the record with the same weight as the approval.
Can Lokta run a book in more than one currency?
Yes. Lokta runs books denominated and settled in more than one currency, which operating across India, wider Asia-Pacific and Africa requires. LoanPro’s own currency line records a foreign-currency payment without moving it, and its rails are United States and Canadian. For a lender with one book, one market and one currency, this changes nothing. If your next book settles in a second currency, it decides the evaluation before the feature comparison starts.
What does automation cost as our book grows?
Our pricing does not count rule evaluations toward a billable account figure, so running a collections strategy across every account does not move that figure. LoanPro’s seven-metric formula can raise the count once rule evaluations climb past 750 times the live-account count. Run that arithmetic against your own automation profile before you sign a contract. Our platform rate is published. Under Lokta Next 100, an NBFC in India with AUM up to ₹100 crore at enrolment (pure-play microfinance NBFCs excluded) pays a ₹0 platform fee for 24 months from go-live, and 1 bps a month on average monthly AUM once the free term ends or AUM has sat above the cap for two consecutive months. Metered AI is billed on top, and a lender bringing an existing book pays flat one-time migration and bank-integration fees. For any other book, ask us for the figure in the same conversation.
Related comparisons
Sources and method
Everything on this page about LoanPro is drawn from its own public material, linked below and last checked on 20 August 2026. We do not run hands-on testing of other platforms, so a row records what the vendor states rather than what we have verified in a deployment, and where the material does not settle a question the row says so instead of treating silence as absence. Capabilities change and deployments differ: confirm the current position, and your own configuration, with the vendor.
- LoanPro, loan management software
- LoanPro developer documentation
- LoanPro, payment idempotency reference
- LoanPro, automation engine and Clojure rules
- LoanPro, contract and billing information
- LoanPro, payment processing overview and currency limits
- LoanPro, how Metro 2 files work
- LoanPro, AI Gateway announcement, October 2025
- LoanPro, Compliance Guardrails documentation
- LoanPro public changelog
- LoanPro, virtual private cloud overview
- LoanPro, security certifications and partner-bank compliance
LoanPro is a trademark of its owner, shown here for identification only. Apache, Apache Fineract and Fineract are trademarks of the Apache Software Foundation. Lokta is not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by the Apache Software Foundation, the Mifos Initiative, or any other company named here.